It's been a rough week for Uber. First, private comments were made public. Then"God View" was revealed. Finally, Ashton Kutcher, an Uber investor, took to Twitter to throw-in his two and a half cents.
The combination of recent events have forced many to proclaim they'll never use the service again. Simply deleting the app from your phone will eliminate it as an option the next time you're in need of a ride, but your account will remain active. To complete your boycott, you'll also want to delete your Uber account.
Deleting your account isn't an automated process. Here's what you need to do:
- Visit Uber's support site.
- Fill in the required fields with your Uber account info. Be sure to put "Cancel my Uber account" or a variation of it in the subject line.
- In the body of the message, provide the rest of your account information (name, phone number).
- Select your Uber city.
After a few days, you'll receive a reply indicating your account has been canceled. You can delete the app from your phone at any time, or wait until you receive a response from support confirming your account has been closed.